Chicken pot pie … Experiment #1 tonight

Today I tried a new dinner meal and dessert without any guidance.  I was also prepared with some frozen leftovers if things went south.

The experiment:  Chicken Pot Pie

It’s one of my favorite meals I remember Mom making. So here’s the story..

  1. I heated some Organic Chicken Broth and water – probably  1 1/2 cup broth to 1/2 cup water and a little salt and pepper.
  2. I added to that 10 small brussel sprouts (split in half), about 15 a baby carrots (big chunks) and 4 ounces of cooked chicken – shredded.  I let that come to a boil
  3. While that was cooking, in a bowl, I mixed 1/4 cup of soft butter, 1 tsp. baking powder and 1 tsp salt, 1/2 cup of almond flour.
  4. After mixing that I added a couple egg whites
  5. And finally, because that seemed too thin, I added about 1/4 cup of Quinoa Flour.  I think I added a bit more, bit by bit.
  6. I but that bowl in the fridge while the soup finished.
  7. In a small pyrex, I added the soup (I drained most of the juice out before adding to the dish)
  8. Finally, I spread the batter across the soup.
  9. Cooked for 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

YUM

Chicken Pot Pie

Leave a Reply

